2015 – We are going on…

Today we embark on a New Year – 2015.

2014 is merely just a memory. What kind of year did you have? Was it all you had hoped for? Was it memorable or just completely forgettable? Every year is full of peaks and valleys, pains and joys, heartache and happiness.

I read a story the other day of some men years ago that were on a leaky old ship, in the middle of a rough and stormy sea.  They were actually fearful for their lives.  None of them knew whether they were going to sink or not.  So one of them went in to see the captain and fearfully asked, “Captain, are we safe?”

The captain responded deliberately, “Well, I’ll put it to you this way.The boilers on this ship are very weak and may explode at any moment. Also, the ship is very old, and she’s taking on water.”  He continued, “To be very honest with you, we may have an explosion, or we may sink. We may go up, or we may go down, but at any rate, we are going on.”

That is the same way we are as we face this New Year – 2015.  No one but God knows what is around the next corner on this exciting journey called life.  It is true.  We may go up. We may go down. But, we are headed forward.

No one knows what we will experience this coming year.  I mean… I don’t know.  I don’t know what sickness, I don’t know what heartache, I don’t know what trouble, I don’t know what joys, I don’t know what successes or triumphs.

But I do know the One who has everything in control according to His plan. As He says in Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you . . . to give you a future and a hope.”  Isaiah admonishes me to “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

So, I choose to trust in God who loves me and holds the future. “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord. He is like a tree planted by water, that sends out its roots by the stream, and does not fear when heat comes, for its leaves remain green, and is not anxious in the year of drought, for it does not cease to bear fruit.” Jer. 17:7-8

It is January 1st – take time today to scan back through your past year in order to count all the blessings you have received. An easy way of sparking your memory is to go into your cell phone pictures and click through all you have documented this past year!

I enjoyed looking at where my life has taken me this past year and decided to take all my cell phone pictures and videos and create a slideshow for you guys to see what I have been up to in 2014. Hang on tight.

“Count your blessings instead of your crosses.

Count your gains instead of your losses.

Count your joys instead of your woes.

Count your friends instead of your foes.

Count your courage instead of your fears.

Count you health instead of your wealth.

                                    Count on God instead of yourself.”        Author Unknown

4 thoughts on “2015 – We are going on…

  1. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about 2014 and our upcoming new year 2015. Thank you for being so positive and sharing your faith and dependence on God. You inspire me. You would make a great minister someday.
    May God lead you in 2015 as you go forward and guide you in all your decisions, dreams, and hopes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

